Feminism and the Male Birth Control Pill

For the past couple of decades or so, researchers have been.. well.. researching an oral male contraceptive.  A male birth control pill. It would be reversible unlike vasectomies and wouldn’t interfere with the sex act itself like condoms do.

I’m all for male oral contraceptives and frankly I’d be first in line if one ever does come out.  It’s purely to protect myself of course.  No desire to have some random chick I’ve boned call me up a few months later telling me I’m a daddy.

And from a sociological standpoint I think it’s good too.  It would dramatically reduce unwanted kids if the pill were cheap enough that every shmuck in the land could afford to take it.  Women could take theirs, men could take theirs, and children would only be born when both parents actually wanted them.  Great for men, great for mankind.

(There is one downside I’ll point out later, but I think it would be overshadowed by the upsides.)

However, leave it to the “men’s rights” bloggers to turn this into an anti-woman campaign.  According to them, all sorts of “feminists” are against a male birth control pill because it would decrease women’s “power” to get pregnant and then wring men for all sorts of child support.

Now, this very thing is exactly what I’d want to protect myself against, but I certainly don’t think that “feminists” are out to do it en masse.  I just want to avoid the small percentage of crazy bitches out there who are willing to try, or who are just too lazy to take their pills.  In no way do I think a major segment of the female population is even interested in this.  And least of all feminists.

One blog which will remain nameless and linkless has the following embarrassingly worthless, childish, omega-male comment on it:

“Feminists consider a male birth control pill as rape. To a feminist, the ability of all women to control a man’s life, earnings, and liberty is a God given right. I no longer try to understand this, I simply accept that there exist individuals who believe that women are human and men are beasts of burden indentured to serve the ‘humans’.”

First off, this is precisely why I don’t allow comments here.  Second, what sort of a lunatic actually believes this?  The ultimate whip-me omega who probably has dark fantasies about being ball-gagged by a dominant woman.  I sense real pathology in that post and I hope whoever wrote it is seeing a psychiatrist so we don’t read in the paper about another dude who shot up a women’s gym or a hair salon.

In truth, here’s a self-described feminist woman’s take on things called Where is the Male Birth Control Pill?

http://feministsforchoice.com/male-birth-control-pill.htm

And another, entitled Why is There Still No Male Contraceptive Pill?:

http://zeldalily.com/index.php/2011/06/why-is-there-still-no-male-contraceptive-pill/

The second one makes the common assumption that the pill will be taken by men in a committed monogamous relationship and the woman will not be taking any form of birth control.  It brings up the “what if he forgets” argument.  Though this is a fallacy — I believe that most male OC will be taken by single guys like myself who are protecting themselves, and therefore have a very real incentive to avoid forgetting about it.

But neither one takes a stand against male contraception itself.  And, in fact, I’d love for someone, ANYONE, to point out any feminist article or blog post that takes a stand against the male birth control pill.  Oh wait, you can’t because I don’t allow comments and also because there is no such article or blog post!

The one female-written anti-male-BCP article I could find mentions nothing of feminism: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-1251868/Of-course-women-dont-want-male-pill–end-happy-little-accidents.html

And, in fact, the article itself states, “[A]s Professor Richard Anderson of the University of Edinburgh says: ‘When we carried out surveys of women, they were enormously enthusiastic [about the male birth control pill].'”

So to think that feminists (real feminists that is, not these crazy nutbags’ idea of feminists) give two shits about a male birth control pill is simply insane.  I’m sure if you polled real feminists, 90% of them would be strongly in favor of men having the ability to choose for themselves if/when to have kids.

Now, here’s the downside to mens’ oral contraceptives, from a sociological perspective.  Many men wear condoms to avoid getting broads pregnant.  In doing so, they also protect themselves and the broads from STDs.  If a man goes on the pill and stops wearing condoms, he runs a higher likelihood of getting an STD or of passing one on.

This is a downside, I’ll admit.  But, everything has downsides and I think the upsides outweigh it.

So researchers, please continue researching a male birth control pill.  I want one!

